August 22, 2015 // 0 Comments

14TH DELHI INTERNATIONAL OPEN GRANDMASTERS CHESS TOURNAMENT-2016 WILL BE HELD AT LUDLOW CASTLE SPORTS COMPLEX, CIVIL LINES, NEW DELHI FROM 09-16 JAN 2016 WITH A RECORD PRIZE FUND OF RS. 35,00,000/- (Category ‘A’ above 2000 rating 1Rs. 12.5 lakh; Category ‘B’ 1999 & below Rs. 11.5 lakh and Category ‘C’ 1599 & below Rs. 11 lakh). For more details download circular. DOWNLOAD CIRCULAR

Congratulations Aryan Chopra

August 17, 2015 // 0 Comments

Delhi youngster Aryan Chopra has won his Maiden GRAND MASTER NORM at RTU OPEN, Latvia. He was unbeaten throughout and got sixth rank in the tournament where out of total 190 players from 40 countries, 108 title players were playing out of which 30 were GMs and 28 IMs. His Rating performance was 2647. He remained undefeated and was the only untitled player in the Top 50 players of tournament. He already holds two International Master Norms and thus qualifies to be the youngest IM from India. His current rating is 2402 and he is gaining 28 ELO points. Delhi Chess Association congratulates Aryan Chopra for his remarkable achievement.

Tania Sachdev wins silver in Asian Rapid

August 13, 2015 // 0 Comments

International Master Tania Sachdev won the silver medal in Asian Continental Women’s Rapid Chess Championship that concluded at Al Ain on Wednesday. Scoring six points out of a possible seven, Tania won five and drew two games to tie for the top spot along with Tan Zhongyi of China. Due to inferior tie break score Tania settled for Silver. Delhi Chess Association congratulate Tania for the achievement.

Abhijeet Gupta wins Commonwealth Chess Championship

June 30, 2015 // 0 Comments

Abhijeet Gupta wins Commonwealth Chess Championship Grandmaster and former world junior champion Abhijeet Gupta won the Commonwealth Chess Championship after settling for a quick draw with Arghyadip Das in the ninth and final round that concluded here. Gupta a winner of this event in 2015, regained the crown with a very impressive eight points out of a possible nine, winning the first seven games in the championship and drawing the last two with utmost ease. “I guess I was doing well right from the start, I got off with some victories and it was nice to win seven games in a row, I could not remember the last time I did that in any International event. That was it I gess my seventh round victory […]

Abhijeet Gupta stays ahead in Commonwealth Chess

June 29, 2015 // 0 Comments

Grandmaster and former champion Abhijeet Gupta inched closer to regaining the Commonwealth Chess Championship after settling for a quick draw with fellow Grandmaster Deepan Chakkravarthy in the eighth and penultimate round that concluded here. With 7.5 points from eight rounds, Gupta is a half point ahead of nearest contender Arghyadip Das who accounted for Grandmaster Abhijit Kunte. It turned out to be a rather dull day in the championship with many drawn results. However most of the games were hard-fought. Grandmaster M R Lalith Babu, International Master S Ravi Teja, former national champion G Akash are all having 6.5 points each but the surprise packet in this score group is Siva Mahadevan who continued with his impressive run and downed IM K Rathnakaran. Lalith Babu […]

Abhijeet Gupta unstoppable in Commonwealth Chess

June 28, 2015 // 0 Comments

Grandmaster and former champion Abhijeet Gupta remained on course for regaining the crown after a crushing victory against defending champion Deep Sengupta in the seventh round of the Commonwealth Chess championship that concluded here.   With his seventh victory in a row, Abhijeet also crossed a personal landmark as the former world junior champion could not recall the last time he had won first seven games in an International event. The victory means Gupta increased his lead to a full points as the nearest contenders for the crown are now on six points. Grandmasters Abhijit Kunte,  Deepan Chakkravarthy and International Masters Arghyadip Das and S Ravi Teja are all sharing the second spot with six points apiece. The day belonged to Gupta once again he […]

1 2 3 4